Agenda and minutes

Special Council, Council
Thursday, 12th September, 2019 7.00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber - Civic Offices

Contact: Frank Jeffrey  on 01483 743012 or email

Webcast: View the webcast

No. Item


Apologies for Absence.

Additional documents:


Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors M Bridgeman and M I Raja, Independent Co-Opted Member Claire Storey and the Head of Democratic and Legal Services, Peter Bryant.


Declarations of Interest.

To receive declarations of disclosable pecuniary and other interests from Members and Officers in respect of any item to be considered at the meeting.

Additional documents:


No declarations of interest were received.


Leader of the Council.

Following the Council Meeting on 25 July 2019, the Leader of the Council received notice by email from the Leader of the Opposition that he should have his status as Leader confirmed by the Conservative Group.  In accordance with the Constitution this can be done at a Full Council Meeting as the Leader can only be Elected by Full Council.  Accordingly the Leader of the Council requested that a Special Council meeting be held on 12 September.

The Motion before the Council is that :-

“This Council has Confidence in the Leader.”

The Motion will be moved by Councillor Simon Ashall, Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group.


Additional documents:


Councillor Ashall, Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group, moved and Councillor Whitehand seconded a motion stating that:- “This Council has Confidence in the Leader.”  Councillor Ashall introduced the motion and explained that the motion, and the need for a Special meeting of Council, had arisen in light of a request from the Leader of the Opposition for the Conservative Group to state its confidence in the Leader of the Council.  The Leader of the Council could only be appointed by the Council and not the Conservative Group and accordingly a Special meeting had been called to resolve the issue.

The motion was debated by the Council, with a number of Councillors questioning the need for a Special meeting and the cancellation of a meeting of the Executive to determine the matter.  Councillor Ashall responded to the points raised before the matter was put to a vote.  In accordance with Standing Order 10.8, the names of Members voting for and against the motion were recorded.

In favour:                                Councillors S Ashall, A Azad, D Bittleston, G Cundy, K Davis, G Elson, D Harlow, S Hussain, C Kemp, N Martin, R Mohammed, C Rana and M Whitehand.

Total in favour:                       13

Against:                                  Councillors J Bond and A Boote.

Total against:                         2

Present not voting:                 Councillors M Ali, T Aziz, A-M Barker, G Chrystie, W Forster, K Howard, D Hughes, The Mayor (Councillor Mrs Hunwicks), R Leach, L Lyons, L Morales, M I Raja and J Sanderson.

Total present not voting:        13

The motion was therefore carried by 13 votes in favour to 2 votes against.


That the Motion be supported.